Campus Master Plan | 2011
Click here for a full PDF copy of the UTEP Campus Master Plan

Institutional History

The University of Texas at El Paso was founded as the Texas State School of Mines and Metallurgy in 1914. The school opened with 27 students in a single building located at Fort Bliss. After that building was destroyed by fire, the campus was moved to its current location in 1917. In 1919, the institution became part of the University of Texas System and the name was changed to the Texas College of Mines and Metallurgy.

Although the curriculum retained a focus on engineering and science, liberal arts courses were offered as early as the late 1920s. The first master's program was established in 1940. The school changed its name again to Texas Western College in 1949 and again to The University of Texas at El Paso in 1967.

The University now has an enrollment of more than 22,000 students and offers 75 bachelor's, 78 master's, and 19 doctoral degree programs. It is ranked by The Carnegie Foundation in the high research activity category, placing it in the top 4% of all colleges and universities in the United States. UTEP is dedicated to becoming one of Texas' next national research (Tier One) universities.

The University is the largest institution of higher education in the region and plays an important role in the social and economic life of El Paso.

Main Building of the original Texas State School of Mines and Metallurgy campus (above), destroyed in a 1916 fire.

The "new" Texas College of Mines and Metallurgy campus in 1932 (above) and 1934 (below), nestled at the foot of the Franklin Mountains overlooking downtown El Paso.