Campus Master Plan | 2011
Click here for a full PDF copy of the UTEP Campus Master Plan

Civic Structure

The civic structure of a campus is composed of its interconnected public spaces: its streets, quadrangles, courtyards, and the major public spaces within its buildings. These constitute the campus's public realm, organizing and linking together its buildings to form a coherent environment.

There are six primary components of UTEP's proposed campus civic structure—the outdoor spaces around which its buildings are arranged:

1 Memorial Triangle
reconfigured and expanded
2 Wiggins Drive
converted to a pedestrian street and leading to a new overlook at its south end
3 Hawthorne Street
converted to a pedestrian street
4 University Avenue
converted to a pedestrian street where it passes through the core campus
5 The Arroyo
incorporating a new system of recreational bike and hiking trails
6 Sun Bowl Drive
enhanced by planting and shading devices and bounded by new buildings along its east side
Secondary courtyards, quadrangles, and gardens are located in the districts between the major components of the campus's civic structure and provide a local sense of destination and place:

7 Circle Drive Park
8 Physical Science Terrace
9 The Desert Garden
10 Library Grove
11 Leech Grove and adjoining Desert Hillock
12 The new South Quadrangle
13 The new South Desert Park
These spaces vary greatly in character and spatial function. Some, like the new South Desert Park and Desert Garden, exploit the rough natural topography and the desert vegetation. Some, like Circle Drive Park and Library Grove, are more manicured and lush. Some, like Physical Science Terrace and the new South Desert Park, are primarily connectors while others, such as Library Grove and Spence Park, are destinations.

Proposed Civic Structure & Gateways (click image for larger version)